Skip to main content

Academic Deans' Minutes

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: RG-05-01-14

Scope and Contents

This series consists of two sub-series. It contains minutes from the meetings of the Academic Deans. The first sub-series, Inclusive, often includes more documentation other than strictly agendas and minutes, with documents, topics discussed, memoranda, and correspondence. The second sub-series, Summary, includes more brief documentation of the meetings but sometimes includes documentation not found in the first


  • Creation: 1961-1998

Language of Materials

Materials in English.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Historical Note

The Academic Deans are the heads of the numerous colleges of Ball State University. In 1961, the university’s programs were grouped as three divisions (Fine and Applied Arts, Sciences and Humanities and Education), each with a divisional dean to oversee them. In 1964, these divisions became colleges, and as the university and the number of colleges grew, there came to be Institutional Deans over each of the colleges, whom were later called Academic Deans. Colleges today include: Applied Sciences and Technology, Architecture and Planning, Miller College of Business, Communication, Information and Media, Fine Arts, Sciences and Humanities, and Teachers. The deans of these colleges report directly to the Provost.


3 Cubic Feet (5 Boxes)


This collection is arranged chronologically.

Academic Deans' Minutes
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Ball State University Archives Repository

Alexander M. Bracken Library
2000 W. University Avenue
Muncie Indiana 47306 USA