Skip to main content

Department of Telecommunications records

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: RG-14-27-01

Scope and Contents

This collection includes program guides from public radio station WBST in Muncie, IN ranging from 1969 to 1999.


  • 1963-1999

Language of Materials

Materials in English.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Biographical Note / Historical Note / Administrative History

The Department of Telecommunications was originally established as the Center for Radio and Television in 1966. The department led its graduates toward careers in either teaching or commercial broadcasting. In 1976 the department was renamed Radio/Television/Motion Pictures (RTM). In 1980 the current name of Telecommunications or TCOM was adopted and the department was located within the College of Sciences and the Humanities. In 1997 the department, along with other communications-related academic units, became a part of the new College of Communication, Information, and Media (CCIM). Today, the department stresses an interdisciplinary approach working strongly with the other academic units within the CCIM providing students with a well rounded technology focused curriculum.


1 Cubic Feet (1 Box)


Arranged in the following series:

Series 1: Program guides

Series 2: Newsclippings, press releases, and newsletters

  • Broadcasting Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
  • Radio Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Department of Telecommunications records
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Ball State University Archives Repository

Alexander M. Bracken Library
2000 W. University Avenue
Muncie Indiana 47306 USA