Skip to main content

Thomas A. Sargent papers

Identifier: MSS-202

Scope and Contents

The Thomas A. Sargent papers include information about the Muncie Symphony Orchestra, manuscripts, correspondence, interviews, audiocassettes, and photocopies of pictures of the orchestra through the years. The correspondence file contains letters to and from colleagues, faculty members, friends, as well as his letters to the publisher of his book, "The Muncie Symphony Orchestra: Fifty Seasons of Music." The interview file contains transcripts of Thomas A. Sargent's interviews with various people in music that were associated with the Muncie Symphony Orchestra. Recordings of these interviews are in R.046.The photocopies files contain pictures of the orchestra, members of the music faculty, as well as distinguished visitor to the orchestra through the years.


  • 1950-1999

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with Archives and Special Collections, Ball State University Libraries, Muncie, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Archives and Special Collections.

Biographical Note

Thomas A. Sargent received his B.A. from DePauw University, and his A.M., M.A.L.D., and Ph.D. from Tufts University. During the 1980's he was a political science professor at Ball State University. Throughout his career Sargent served in positions in several professional organizations including, Director of the E. B. and Bertha C. Ball Center, at-large member of the Indiana Real Estate Commission, Minnetrista Cultural Center Board of Governors, Delaware Historical Alliance President, and the Executive Director of the Indiana Consortium for International Programs. He was the second vice president of the Muncie Symphony Orchestra board as well. Due to his extensive service to Indiana, Sargent received the distinguished designation Sagamore of the Wabash from Governor Robert D. Orr in 1989. He is author of "The Muncie Symphony Orchestra: Fifty Seasons of Music" and "Bracken House: A History."


0.3 Cubic Feet (1 box, 2 audio cassettes, 3 microcassettes)

Language of Materials



This collection is arranged in the following series:

Series 1: Thomas A. Sargent subject files, 1987-1997

Series 2: Thomas A. Sargent publications, 1950-1999

Series 3: Thomas A. Sargent interview recordings, 1993-1997

Custodial History

This collection was received by Archives and Special Collections as a donation.


No further additions are expected.

Processing Information

Collection processing completed 2000/07/12 by C. Brand. Collection processing revised 2007/11/17 by M. Read. EAD finding aid created 2012/10/15 by Julie Hausknecht. EAD finding aid revised 2012/12/03 by Bethany Fiechter.

Thomas A. Sargent papers
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Stoeckel Archives of Local History Repository

Alexander M. Bracken Library
2000 W. University Avenue
Muncie Indiana 47306 USA